Commission & Secretariat

The Commission is composed of ten members, five Americans and five Japanese, who are appointed annually by their respective governments. Two members on each side represent the government while the remaining members come from the private sector. The Commission plays an important role in devising plans and setting policies regarding Japan-U.S. exchanges.

Commission Members

Japanese Honorary Co-Chairman American Honorary Co-Chairman
Vice Minister
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
U.S. Ambassador to Japan
Embassy of the United States of America
Japanese Members (Alphabetical Order) American Members (Alphabetical Order)
Toshihide ANDO
Deputy Press Secretary, Deputy Assitant Minister for Press and Public Diplomacy
Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Caroline BENTON
Vice President & Executive Director
U of Tsukuba
Kazuaki KAWABATA [Chair]
Director-General for International Affairs
Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology
Minister-Counselor for Public Affairs
Public Affairs Section
Embassy of the United States of America
Yoshiko KOJO
Professor of International Relations
Grad. Sch. of Arts & Sciences Department of Advanced Social and Int'l Studies
U of Tokyo
Associate Professor
Graduate School of Int'l Corporate Strategies
Hitotsubashi U
Fumiaki KUBO
Grad.Sch./Law and Politics
U of Tokyo
Michael TURNER
Cultural Affairs Officer
Embassy of the United States of America
Tsuda University


Sanno Grand Building 207, 2-14-2 Nagata-cho,
Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo, Japan 100-0014
TEL: +81-3-3580-3231 FAX: +81-3-3580-1217

Next to Akasaka-Mitsuke Station, Sanno-shita Exit (Exit 11) - Marunouchi Line, Ginza Line
5 min walk from Nagata-cho Station - Hanzomon Line, Yurakucho Line, Namboku Line
7 min walk from Tameike-sanno Station - Namboku Line, Ginza Line

Please note that EducationUSA advising center is located at American Center Japan

Office Hours

The day-to-day operations of the Commission are carried out by a Secretariat with the following divisions:

Executive Director: Matthew S. Sussman / Executive Office

Hours Monday - Friday, 9:00 am - 5:30 pm

Fulbright Grant Program

Hours Monday - Friday, 9:00 am - 5:30 pm

General Affairs

Hours Monday - Friday, 9:00 am - 5:30 pm

EducationUSA Advising Center

NOF Tameike Building, 8F, 1-1-14, Akasaka, Minato-ku, Tokyo, 107-0052